My Reading Challenge

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors, and the most patient of teachers.

– Charles William Eliot

Reading is a way to broaden your living experience, to travel to a new place, to meet a person from the past or the future, someone like you to empathise with, someone different from you to learn from. So this year I’m focussing on broadening my reading experience as much as possible and thought setting myself a reading challenge would be a fun way to do it. Anyone keen to join me?

I’ve set myself a goal to read 52 books this year (so one book a week) and thought this reading challenge would add to the fun and get me well on my way to achieving my goal.

I’ll work through the list, finding books which match the criteria and post a review after reading.

  1. A book you own but haven’t read
  2. A book that was made into a film
  3. A book recommended by a friend
  4. A book by an author you haven’t read before
  5. A book published this year
  6. A book published the year you were born
  7. A book originally written in a foreign language
  8. A book set in a country you’d love to visit
  9. A book from a genre you don’t usually read
  10. A book set in the country you were born
  11. A book of non-fiction
  12. A memoir or diary
  13. A book you read so long ago you don’t remember it
  14. A book with a one word title
  15. A book that’s won an award
  16. A book from the 19th century
  17. A banned book
  18. The first book in a series
  19. A graphic novel
  20. A debut novel

Anyone want to join me on this reading challenge? Have any books you could recommend?

2 thoughts on “My Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

