A year of possibility

“When you throw everything up in the air anything becomes possible.” 

― Salman Rushdie

I entered the new year much as the same as everyone else: I cheered, I drank, and I considered all the things I was going to do with this bright, shiny, clean year ahead – namely all the things I didn’t do last year.

In my usual way, I started structuring everything, dividing up my goals into categories, allocating those categories a selection of time, divvying up my life into neat time capsules of 1 hour at gym, 2 hours writing time, 1 social event per week, assigning each evening to book reviewing, run club, family night, language course respectively.

Everything was colour-coded, timetabled, graphed (ok, perhaps not graphed … but there was a number of excel spreadsheets involved)

Then I woke up the next morning (two and a half hours later then scheduled), didn’t eat one of my pre-approved breakfast options, instead guzzling down two crumpets with butter and honey, avoided the gym and fell into a pit of despair at the miserable failure I was well before lunchtime.

Then this arrived …

20160108_144222-1

A wonderful present from my friend Warrior Freya, and in that moment I realised I’d been looking at everything all wrong.

I had denied myself the glorious delightful of Possibility.

When I started this blog, it never occurred to my that I could encounter wonderful people with whom I share interests and beliefs, people who I can learn from, people who offer support. It never occurred to me that I could find friends. But that is precisely what happened, and those friendships have been the best part of blogging.

I don’t know what this year is going to bring, but if I try to structure every minute, if I confine myself to the small comfort zone I like to live in, it’ll be very hard, impossible even, for life to bring me anything at all.

So, I’ve thrown my road map for the year out the metaphorical window and am ready to embrace any road life decides to take me down.

 

One thought on “A year of possibility

  1. !!!

    I’m so glad it made it to you! You have no idea how happy I was when I read your post and saw the picture. I’ve been holding my breath hoping that it didn’t get lost in the mail.

    Here’s to a new chapter, a blank page. Here’s to new adventures and endless possibilities. Here’s to the New Year, new posts, new trials and accomplishments. Here’s to the unknown, the scary and the fantastic.

    We may be on different roads but we’re traveling together. I’m looking forward to journeying with you, my friend. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

