Tintagel and St Nectan’s Glen

Latest adventure and photos from our day visiting Tintagel, the land of King Arthur and fairies …

wpid-20150904_173232.jpg

Some images of Tintagel village.

Some images of Tintagel Village

Wasn't allowed cream tea. Have to wait until after the work apparently. Stupid Sophia and her strict german regulations!

I wasn’t allowed to have cream tea. Must wait until after the walk apparently. Stupid Sophia and her strict german regulations!

wpid-20150904_144623.jpg

Views from the castle. Great look out point … no wonder we haven’t been invaded since 1066. Good work guys!

We begin our walk along the Southern Coastal Path. It's a bit overcast at the moment so looks gloomy on camera but you can't deny how beautiful this place is.

We begin our walk along the Southern Coastal Path. It’s a bit overcast at the moment so looks gloomy on camera but you can’t deny how beautiful this place is.

Lost again, but who cares when the view is this beautiful

Lost again, but who cares when the view is this beautiful.

The sheep were so unimpressed by us.

The sheep were so unimpressed by us. “What are these lunatic tourists doing in our field?”

With the walking along cliff edges, chased by sheep and then having horses block our path this felt like a real life version of Dungeons and Dragons. I'm not sure if you can tell from the photo but that little yellow dot on the fence is the trail marker telling us where we need to go. How do you say

Having walked along cliff edges, been chased by sheep only to find horses have blocked our path, this felt like a real life version of Dungeons and Dragons. I’m not sure if you can tell from the photo but that little yellow dot on the fence is the trail marker telling us where we need to go. How do you say “Please get out of the way” in Horse? Anyone?

I know this looks like some desert waste land but it's actually a potato field.

I know this looks like some desert waste land but it’s actually a potato field.

See ... potatoes!

See … potatoes!

Yeah, we're lost ... again.

Yeah, we’re lost … again. Nice work, Sophia!

Found the path! Dunno how ...

Found the path! Dunno how …

Wandering through the glen where the fairies live. There were lots of fairy lights hanging from trees and little houses, plus lots of random piles of pebbles (signs of the fairies at work) I wish I'd taken photos but I was just so engrossed in the beauty and quaintness of the place I completely forgot.

Wandering through the glen where the fairies live. There were lots of fairy lights hanging from trees and little houses, plus lots of random piles of pebbles (signs of the fairies at work) I wish I’d taken photos but I was just so engrossed in the beauty and quaintness of the place I completely forgot.

Didn't get to meet a Springan. I'm sure they're nice folk though.

Didn’t get to meet a Springgan. I’m sure they’re nice folk though.

We finally arrived at St Nectan's Glen and treated ourselves to cake and cream tea. I don't think I've ever deserved cake and tea more!

We finally arrived at St Nectan’s Glen and treated ourselves to cake and cream tea. I don’t think I’ve ever deserved cake and tea more!

I think the locals had had enough of us wandering through their fields by this point. Yeah, ok we can take a hint ...

I think the locals had had enough of us wandering through their fields by this point. Yeah, ok we can take a hint …

Yey, we found the coast! again!

Yey, we found the coast again! Another adventure successfully completed.

Side note – Sophia feels that I have been a bit unfair with all the comments about how she keeps getting us lost and would like me to post this in her defence:

wpid-20150904_151203.jpg

Yeah, I agree. Piss poor excuse.

[Photo credit: sevenyearsinadrawer]
3 thoughts on “Tintagel and St Nectan’s Glen

Leave a Reply

