A Very Inspiring Blogger Award

You have but the truth of your feelings and thoughts first, and the sound of your voice would, and could, follow. 

– Vanessa Redgrave

To begin I’d like to thank and express my deepest gratitude to Ally, My Little Piece of Quiet and Warrior Freya for nominating me for this award.

That these two talented bloggers read my posts is the most wonderful feeling. To receive their nominations and read their generous and kind comments about being an inspiring blogger seems strange to me, particularly after the month I’ve just had. It was a particularly testing one as I spent day after day under the covers.

This month has been what feels like a long, dark night’s sleep, the time passing by unnoticed and I didn’t even realised February was over, and yet the time also seemed to stretch on for an eternity as if it would never end.

I’ve “woken up” and I’m both relived that it’s temporarily over, and panicked that I’ve lost yet another irreplaceable chunk of my finite life. So to open up my blog and read the great posts I’ve missed from this community, and read their encouraging words, I feel motivated … and oddly courageous.

I’ve read some pretty brave posts lately from people sharing truly personal experiences and I found them reassuring, because I wasn’t the only one, and inspiring, because maybe I could open up and share bit more about myself too.

So, I read the rules of the award and took them as a dare for myself. Reveal 7 facts about yourself, it says. Well, I’m going to go one step further and reveal 7 secrets about myself, confess 7 truths that I keep hidden from the world, from every person who knows me, who has ever known me.

This blog already exposes some of these secrets, my only outlet, but I’d thought I’d take the opportunity to discuss them in a little more depth. Each secret revealed here will be followed by a blog post sharing a personal story, so thank you in advance to anybody who may take the time to read them, thank you to everyone who currently reads my blog, and who knows, maybe something I say becomes vaguely useful to you (even if it’s just how not to behave!)

7 Secrets About Me

  1. I have depression.
  2. I have had depression for 22 years.
  3. I have a binge eating disorder.
  4. I am a maladaptive daydreamer.
  5. I am writing a book.
  6. I have a physical deformity.
  7. I’m still uncertain of the validity of these things, but I have an IQ of 184.

My Nominations 

Sorry, I didn’t quite make it to 15. I only have 9 blogs to nominate at the moment, but I’m certain I’ll be adding more to this list soon. There’s so many great bloggers out there! One of the great things about these awards and reading the posts of those nominated is that I get to discover some great blogs I may not have found otherwise.

  1. Midnight Blues
  2. Creating your life journey
  3. Rachelvankoughnet.com
  4. Such small hands
  5. Redefining “The Good Life”
  6. Little stories
  7. Lynette Noni
  8. The Elephant in the Room
  9. The Green Study

… and don’t forget to check out My Little Piece of Quiet and Warrior Freya.

The Rules

  1. Post the award on your blog
  2. Thank your nominator
  3. List 7 facts about yourself
  4. Nominate 15 blogs
  5. Post the rules
9 thoughts on “A Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. I’m always humbled when people say I inspire them, or I am brave for what I post.

    Most of the time I feel like I’m fumbling my way through life and just spilling descriptive words onto a computer page. I mean, come on… dropping my phone in the toilet is totally not inspiring. Though not face palming hard enough to give myself a concussion I guess could be seen as brave. : p

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I can relate to the feeling of wonder that people read our blogs, let alone think they are interesting, or worthy of an award.

    You’re posts are so inspiring because it’s about you, your life, your feelings. Putting your emotions out there can be rough. I am so glad I found your blog, and when a fair about of time lapses between your posts I send thoughts your way, hoping things are going well.

    You’re amazing and awesome and totally deserved the Inspiring Blogger award. : )

    I’m looking forward to reading your future posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing such personal secrets, you’re definitely someone who inspires me with every new post 🙂 That’s awesome that you’re writing a book, I hope you have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

